top of page

Without Kull there is no Conan; Without Brule there is no Kull



The Wandering Star complete Kull
The Wandering Star complete Kull

Kull is an interesting character because he is a personification of Howard's explorations. Understanding that means you understand there would be no Conan without Kull and these exploratory stories. I took my time reading this, learned that I had not read as much Kull as I had thought, found some new things to enjoy, yet retained my absolute love for "Kings of the Night" as my very favorite Kull story...even though it's not really a Kull story. Overall this would probably be a 3.5 in actuality, but never rounded down.


I like Tompkins' introduction, the information and analysis there is awesome. I've always liked "Exile of Atlantis" as a compelling intro to the character of Kull. As for "The Shadow Kingdom," I appreciate the fuller creation of Kull and the addition of Brule, the wonder evoked of what's looming (behind and ahead), but I've always found this story difficult to remain engaged. Frankly, Brule gives us Kull. Which is my feeling of most of the Kull stories: without Brule, there would be no Kull.


"The Mirrors of Tuzun Thune" has always never thrilled me. Kull is listless, has lost all and any passion. Boo-hoo. Brule yet again saves the day and the king. Several curious and entertaining statements/concepts/questions posed, but not really much of a story for me. Now the 'Untitled Draft' following it and featuring Kull's ride of vengeance is spectacular. I'd never read it before, quite the delightful tale. Some really well-written lines and terrific descriptions.


When one begins reading "The Cat and the Skull," one thinks 'What the hell?! What kind of story is Howard writing here?' Then as one continues reading, one groans at the idea of another existential exploration like "The Mirrors." Then one reaches the Forbidden Lake and realizes all is well in the land of bloody subterfuge and dangerous sorcery. And one ends content with this quite fun story.


The DelRey complete Kull
The DelRey complete Kull

"The Screaming Skull of Silence" is such a clever story! Very Dunsanian, very out of this world, and very, very Kull, the true Kull. I get a kick out of how Howard plays Kull on both sides of the royal coin, as the anti-king yet filled with many recognized kingly traits, desirable and not. He is an obstinate man whose obstinance in this instance saved mankind. A bunch of stories follow this one, then...


"By this Axe I Rule" is probably my second fave Kull story by far, certainly the best story thus far. Regardless, this is Kull's story, his moment, before he's merely a shadow most often saved by others. I can not only hear his roar but feel it in my bones when he declares, "I am the law!" (though in Sly's voice).


"Swords of the Purple Kingdom" is eloquently told, a rather beautifully written sordid tale. Scene is set wonderfully; atmosphere, persons, attitudes, thrilling undercurrents artfully rendered by Howard to really put us there. Sensory touches and strong description really brings the dark and desperate night alive. One of the best Kull tales. Followed by an interesting poem pitting Kull against the age before man.


And then there's "Kings of the Night," that always shivers me timbers! Man, what thunder of battle and strikes of lightning quick savagery! One of my all-time favorite Howard stories.


My reading recommendations? As adding depth to Howard and Conan and in this order: "Exile of Atlantis" - "By this Axe I Rule" - "The Shadow Kingdom" - "The Screaming Skull of Silence" - "Swords of the Purple Kingdom" - "The King and the Oak" - "Kings of the Night"


Baen paperback Kull
Baen paperback Kull

158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page