top of page
  • Writer's pictureJason

Well Behaved Who?


This looks delightful! And just our luck -- we've discovered it just in time for the 2nd volume! Rejected Princesses celebrates the heroic women who made history but most likely won't ever make a musical.

Part art project, part standup routine, part book report, this site imagines what if we made animated musicals about the women of history and myth who refused to behave.

Reminiscent of Ben Thompson's Bad-Ass of the Week, this entertaining site shares the history of a worthwhile project. I definitely will be adding these books to my library of heroes. I mean, who can ignore

Women too Awesome, Awful, or Offbeat for Kids' Movies.

Right??


I truly appreciate the artistic effort spent here -- really wish these had been around when my daughters were wee and we were reading of heroics together. I don't believe my little heroes were shorted in any way, however adding these renditions to their experiences would only have benefited. I also absolutely enjoy the inclusion of mythical and mortal figures (which Thompson also did) -- I think it important to the conversation of heroes to include not only those who really lived heroic lives but also those whose heroics are used to inspire us to aspire toward. If RBE were ever to reach the ultimate goal of publishing heroic biographies, it would be a long line of ALL heroes, fact or fiction.


Anyway, check out Jason Porath's Rejected Princesses site: there's lots of exciting tales, cool data, and a great endeavor to support. And did you notice the other strong reason? The author is yet another of the pantheon of great Jasons. ;)


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page